Walk off fashion…

score

Incredible! Is all I have to say about last nights game. It was off to a slow start and at the top of the fourth inning we were down 13 – 6. The boys’ heads were hanging low and emotions were running high. And then all of a sudden out of nowhere, the kids seemed to wake up and get into the game.

In the 5th inning we started coming back and were only losing 13-10.  The game was getting exciting and the bleachers were starting to erupt with cheers! The team was rallying!

In the middle of all the excitement, I somehow was asked to run the scoreboard for a small amount of time.

“What? Are you sure about this? Me? Remember I’m the one you guys always have to fill in on the rules.”  It was like asking me to teach a trigonometry class…I have no idea what to do.

I was assured it would only be for a few minutes and then this calculator thing was dropped in my lap. My stress level went up about 100 points. So I started to say a little mantra to myself in my head, “Don’t screw up the scoreboard, Don’t screw up the scoreboard…” The game was getting intense and in this day and age, you would think that there would be something more sophisticated looking to run the scoreboard but what I got looked something like a big bag phone from the 80’s.  Speaking of 80’s, that was a big topic of conversation for some of us parents which I will have to save for another blog.

photo (2)

So I was able to finally rid myself of the scoreboard duties but it was not without being corrected that I have to count the first foul ball as a strike (did not know that).  I’d have to say making only one ‘minor’ mistake for my first time driving wasn’t all that bad. 

So the game was tied at the end of the 6th inning (regulation) and for the first time this year, we had to go to extra innings. My heart was beating fast and at this point, I couldn’t sit down. We were able to hold the team from scoring in the top half of the 7th so now all we had to do was get one run. The first batter went up…strike out. Second batter…A HIT and the batter gets to first base. Third batter….swing and a miss…runner steals second….another swing….runner steals third….a hit….runner runs home and scores! A WALK OFF WIN!!!!

victory

After the winning run crossed the plate, the dugout emptied and the team celebrated their victory at home base.  It was such a great feeling to see the kids come back and see the realization on their faces that they can come back after such a large deficit.  It was very memorable!  We’ll be talking about this game for a long time, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

